HumanPen vs WriteHybrid: copy and paste from Word, or upload the Word file

WriteHybrid's Word page has you copy text out of Word, humanize it, and paste it back. HumanPen takes the .docx itself and returns it, still editable.

Competitor details verified 2026-09-11. Their own site is the authority.

The short answer

WriteHybrid is a paste-in web humanizer with four named modes, monthly word plans, an AI detector and an API with public docs. For Word documents its own page describes copying text out of Word, humanizing it and pasting it back, which is fine for a few paragraphs. HumanPen takes the English .docx or .pptx itself, rewrites inside it, can follow a Turnitin or iThenticate report, and returns the file.

Side by side

HumanPenWriteHybrid
InputUpload the document itselfPaste text; its Word page has you copy content out of Word (no upload box on its public pages)
OutputThe same file back, still editableText, shown side by side with the original. Its Word page says to "paste it back into your Word document"; its FAQ says the tool "focuses on text content humanization"
Per-request word capNoneNot stated
Detection report importTurnitin / iThenticate, flagged passages onlyNot stated
Word-count controlSet a target word range; output converges on it, slight drift possibleNot stated
BillingMetered credits, never expireMonthly or annual subscription in words per month (Starter 20,000 / Pro 60,000 / Agency 150,000); free plan 500 words a month after sign-up
Adjacent toolsCitation fix, condense, translateAI detector (links to a login page when logged out), AI rewriter
Agent / API integrationSkill, MCP, and REST API — callable from AI agentsREST API (POST /humanizer/), docs readable without an account, key sent by email; MCP / Skill not stated
Rewrite languagesEnglish onlyNot stated

When to pick WriteHybrid

  • You're only working on a few paragraphs. If you'd copy the text out of Word anyway, its paste box handles that directly, and the free plan gives 500 words a month after sign-up, with no credit card.
  • You want to pick a register. It has four named modes: Academic, Marketing, Casual and Technical.
  • You want a detector on the same account. WriteHybrid has one. HumanPen has none: you bring a Turnitin or iThenticate report, or pick the passages yourself.
  • You need seats for a team. The Agency plan ($99 a month, or $83 a month billed annually) includes Team Access.
  • You want to read the API before signing up. Its docs show the base URL, a curl example and the request fields, and the key comes by email.

What its Word page says

WriteHybrid's page for Word documents puts it this way. In its formatting section: "Works with all Word formatting including headers, footers, tables, and special formatting while humanizing content." In its FAQ: "Our AI humanizer focuses on text content humanization. You can copy the humanized text back into your Word document while preserving formatting."

In practice the steps are: copy from Word, paste into the humanizer, paste the result back into your document. The text goes through a paste box, and pasting it back is a step you do. For very large documents its FAQ suggests working in sections, which on a long paper means one round of copy and paste-back per section.

HumanPen skips the copy step. You upload the .docx (or .pptx, or .txt), choose the whole document, the passages you pick, or the ones a Turnitin or iThenticate report flagged, and it rewrites inside the file, designed to keep citations, footnotes, tables and styles, then returns an editable file of the same type. If a recheck still flags something, bring the new report. Eligible passages can be re-run at no charge.

FAQ

Does WriteHybrid keep my Word formatting?

Its Word page says it works with all Word formatting, and its steps have you paste the humanized text back into your Word document yourself. There's no upload box on its public pages. With HumanPen you upload the .docx and get the file back.

How much does WriteHybrid cost?

On 11 September 2026: Starter $19, Pro $49 and Agency $99 a month on monthly billing, for 20,000, 60,000 and 150,000 words a month; billed annually they work out to $16, $41 and $83 a month. Its terms say fees are non-refundable unless required by law, and its refund page says you can contact it within 7 days of purchase if you have a valid reason, such as a technical error. HumanPen sells credits charged on the words actually rewritten, and they don't expire.

Both have an API. How do they compare?

WriteHybrid's docs are public: a base URL, a POST /humanizer/ endpoint with a bearer key, and the request fields text, complexity and purpose; the key comes by email. Its pages don't say whether API use shares the web plan's word allowance, so ask before you build on it. HumanPen has a REST API, an MCP server and a Skill, all on the same credit balance.

Which one is more effective at lowering AI scores?

We haven't tested the two side by side, so we don't have a number to give you. The most reliable comparison is to run your own file through each one.

Compare the results on your own document

Use your signup credits to try a small selection of paragraphs. Upload a copy, then compare the returned file with the original.

Try it on your document